Illustrating Salento

By Sarah Shaw

Drawing scenes from my daily life in Colombia has given me the opportunity to really observe my surroundings, slow down and reflect. A few weeks ago, I ventured to Salento, a small town in Colombia’s Coffee Triangle. Surrounded by lush vegetation, patterned houses, and sprawling mountains, I knew this environment would inspire me. The small details appealed to me most–the notched pattern on the farmer’s basket, the bright colors reflecting onto the pavement after a routine rain shower, and the shiny, green coffee leaves. For a few days, I could stray from my daily Peace Corps life and let it all sink in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walking through the town of Salento with José and Francis.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hiking through the majestic palm trees in the Valle de Cocora.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Learning about Colombian coffee production on Don Elias’ farm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brightly patterned buildings in Salento’s Plaza de Bolívar.

Leave a Reply

