Where I’d Be Without Peace Corps

By Jenna Glickman

If there wasn’t a Peace Corps, where would you be right now? I was recently asked this question, and with my time in Colombia coming to a close in just a few short weeks, it seemed like a good moment to reflect. I reasoned that I’d be back home for the holidays with my family in the house I grew up in, but beyond that, I had no clue. I remember getting that blue invitation in the mail (although now it’s all electronic) and feeling such a sense of joy, the other jobs and internships I had half-heartedly applied to immediately fading from my mind. This was it- I was going to fulfill my dream of being a PCV!

If there wasn’t a Peace Corps, I can’t say for certain what I would have done. All I know for sure is that I wouldn’t have:

  • Been able to march into a classroom and confidently co-teach a dynamic hour-long lesson to forty 8th graders, frantically attempting to “plan” while walking up the stairs. Please tell me I’mNowandThenWhereIdBeWithoutPeac (2)
    not the only one!
  • Danced some serious cumbia as La Reina del Colegio, let alone understand what being a Reina meant
  • Taught English methodology in a place overlooking the pristine beaches of San Andres
  • Known the innate pleasure of drinking jugo de guayaba agria. ¡Bien fría por favor!
  • Embarked on all sorts of adventures in Barranquilla and beyond with my proud, Costeño novio
  • Traveled to diverse cities, worked alongside beautiful people, and fallen in love with Colombia

Volunteers are passionate and driven, and I’m sure we’d all be doing fulfilling work somewhere in the world if Peace Corps didn’t exist. However, after thinking about all the small victories and difficult days, the large-scale events and the little moments that have made up my last three years, I can’t help but feel that I am right where I’m supposed to be.

NowandThenWhereIdBeWithoutPeac (1)

Leave a Reply

