Staff Spotlight: Marggie Borda

By Barbara Alvarado

She keeps us laughing and on check. It’s time to learn a little bit more about one of our favorite office staff members.

What is your full name?

Marggie Borda Villanueva.

Where were you born and raised?

Barranquilla.

Where did you go to college and what did you study?

I went to Universidad Autónoma del Caribe and I studied Administración de Impresas. It took me a long time to finish my degree because I got pregnant, but I did it! Ladies, you can do it too!

What is something that we might not know about you?

Hmmm, I’m not that interesting. Oh! I paint. I made my own oil paintings for my house. That’s my special talent because I don’t cook or play sports. Friends and family members are always asking me to make them something but I tell them I only paint on a needs basis.

Balvin or Maluma?

I know two songs by J. Balvin, so J. Balvin.

How did you first hear about Peace Corps?

I heard about it from American movies actually. I can’t recall the actual titles but I remember it being referenced in movies. They were always in the medical field and somewhere in Africa and I thought, “Oh, they’re Peace Corps volunteers.” The last time I heard a PC reference in a movie was in The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, so when I applied for this job I already knew what Peace Corps was about.

Favorite thing to do on your free time?

Eating out. Movies. Having people over my house and spending time with my two kids.

Favorite thing about being Colombian?

Well, it’s about being Costeña more than being Colombian. I like how warm we are, our sense of humor and our perseverance. We have an ability to salir adelante.

Favorite place to visit in Barranquilla?

I like going to Buenavista with my family. If it’s just me and my husband we like going to Bourbon St. and to Las Flores to have lunch by the river. They have great seafood.

What is your guilty pleasure?

Eating chocolate. Like,  lots of it.

If you could create your own dream music festival, who would be your top three headliners?

I love the original line up of the Red Hot Chili Peppers. I saw them recently with the new guitarist but I wasn’t stoked. It would be a mix of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Joe Arroyo and Soda Estereo.

Now for a fun round of Word Association:

Bollo – Chicharon

Vaina – Cosa

Barranquilla – Carnavales

Carnaval – Drinking

English – Necessity

Trabajo- Fun

EE.UU. – Never been there

Colombia – My people

Aguila – Fría

Que mas? – Bien

Diomedes Díaz – El Cacique

Check-in – Looking for a joke

Leave a Reply

